Dear Readers,

As some of you already know, Mayor Roy has offered me a position on his staff as a mayoral assistant, and I have accepted. I begin work next week.

CenLamar will continue to report local, state, and national stories of interest. It will also continue to offer news analysis, community announcements, information on upcoming events, and links to relevant Cenla websites. Other writers have agreed to join the team, and within the next few months, things will change yet again.

I am humbled and excited about the opportunity to work for the Mayor and the City Council.

If any of you have questions, please feel free to ask me directly right here on the blog or send me an e-mail at lamarw@gmail.com.

All the best,

Lamar

14 thoughts

  1. Congratulations Lamar! I know you will work to make Alexandria even better. Mayor Roy is building a great team.

  2. I sorta saw this coming, and I’m happy for ya, bud. Your ideas and visions for this city are refreshing and will serve the entire area well if taken into consideration.

    JR seems like the kinda guy who’s open to listening to the future leaders of this area, those who have a vision that isn’t stodgy, tight and boring.

    Go get ’em, tiger.

  3. congratulations, man! it makes me confident to know that our city has some passionate and intelligent people behind the scenes really thinking about whats best for everyone.

    keep up the good work.

  4. Well, maybe he was being sarcastic……..I don’t know. It just struck me wrong whether it was meant or teasing. As my granny used to say “Tacky, Tacky, Tacky! For shame!”

  5. Sophiesrain,

    Sarcastic? Yes. Tacky? No, as i’m the cup of coffee with the most cream and sugar in it.

    Hugs and kisses,
    Geoff

  6. I voted for Jacques, and with that vote comes my willingness for him to pick his own staff. While I cannot promise that I will agree with everything you and Jacques do, since I live here, I certainly wish the best of luck and success to you in your new job Lamar. I consider your willingness to openly state your own views is commendable. Once again, Good luck.

  7. I tried to send you a personal message using the email address at the end of the announcement of you accepting a job with the new mayor. It was returned non-deliverable. I then tried “lamar” rather than “lamaw” and the same happened.
    Do you have a private email address that us useable? Thank you.
    lf58505@aol.com

  8. I tried to send you a personal message using the email address at the end of the announcement of you accepting a job with the new mayor. It was returned non-deliverable. I then tried “lamar” rather than “lamaw” and the same happened.
    Do you have a private email address that us useable? Thank you.
    lf68505@aol.com

Leave a comment