LOUISIANA IS HOME TO MORE than 337,000 veterans, 55,000 of whom live in the First Congressional District, represented by Congressman Bobby Jindal. In one of his most recent television ads, Bobby Jindal defends himself against the accusations that he has voted against our veterans, implying that such a claim is absurd. Yet, at the same time, Jindal has refused to argue against any of the specifics. Here are the facts, provided by a third-party watchdog:

Jindal Voted Against Giving the National Guard Access to TRICARE. In May 2005, Jindal voted against a motion to recommit the Fiscal 2006 Defense Authorization to the House Armed Services Committee with instructions to include language that would extend access to the military’s TRICARE health insurance program to all reservists and National Guard members. According to Congressional Quarterly, “The provision would pull $180 million from the Defense Department’s budget for base closings in order to cover the cost of allowing any reservists to sign up for TRICARE health care coverage.” The motion was rejected 211-218. [HR 1815, vote 221, 5/25/05; Congressional Quarterly, 5/23/05]

    Jindal Praised the National Guard for their Katrina Response. “The National Guard and active-duty military response saved lives and provided much-needed assistance and medical care to thousands of people during Hurricanes Katrina and Rita,” Jindal said. [Jindal press release, 5/11/06]
    41 Percent of the Louisiana National Guard Is in Iraq. 923 Louisiana U.S. Army Reservists and 5,280 Louisiana National Guard members have been deployed in Iraq (41 percent of Louisiana National Guard members). [Center for American Progress, “The Reserves in Your Hometown,” http://www.americanprogress.org/issues/kfiles/b237662.html]

Jindal Voted For Budget That Cut Veterans Health Care By $13.5 Billion. In 2005, Jindal voted for final passage of the $2.6 trillion budget conference report for 2006. The report cut Medicaid spending by $10 billion, spent every penny of the Social Security surplus, increased the national deficit by $167.5 billion over 5 years and paved the way for oil drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Furthermore, the conference report cut funding for veterans’ health care by $13.5 billion over five years. Yet the budget still found room for $106 billion in tax cuts for those who need it the least. [HR 95, Vote 149, 4/28/05; House Budget Committee Democratic Caucus, “Summary and Analysis of FY 2006 Budget Resolution Conference Report,” 4/28/05]
Jindal Opposed $100 Million Increase for Military Personnel. In 2005, Jindal voted against a proposal to the budget to increase funding for military health care by $100 million and transitional job training for military personnel by $50 million. The proposed increase failed, 200-229. [HR 1268, Vote 76, 3/16/05]

Jindal Opposed Ending the Military Families Tax. In May 2006, Jindal voted against motion to recommit the FY07 Department of Defense Authorization to the Armed Services Committee with instructions to include language that would eliminate the requirement that widows and orphans of deceased or fully disabled military personnel who receive pensions under the Defense Department’s Survivor Benefits Program have those benefits reduced by the amount received from the Department of Veterans Affairs’ Dependent and Indemnity Compensation program. The Military Families Tax penalizes more than 50,000 survivors in military families, most of whom are widows. These widows lose their military survivor benefits under the Survivor Benefit Plan (SBP) if they receive VA Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC) benefits because their spouse has died of a service-connected injury. Specifically, the spouse’s SBP benefit is reduced dollar for dollar by the amount of the DIC benefit – a $993 deduction per month. This harms the 53,000 survivors who continue to pay this unfair tax. The motion was rejected 202-220. [HR 5122, vote 144, 5/11/06; Leadership document, 5/11/06]
Jindal Voted Against Better Employment And Debt Assistance For Troops
Jindal Voted Against Additional Job Assistance to Veterans Returning from Overseas. In 2005, Jindal opposed a motion to the Job Training Improvement Act to provide extra assistance to veterans who are returning from conflicts overseas. Many veterans returning from the conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq may need skills and training to obtain or retain their jobs while Reservists who have spent a year or more overseas have put their careers on hold to serve our country. Four out of 10 members of the Guard and Reserve forces lose income when they leave their civilian jobs for active duty. Many left for the war thinking they would be deployed for 6 months and have ended up staying for a year or even longer and may be shipped out again. Additionally, many Guard and Reservists are self-employed or run small businesses and face the daunting task of reestablishing their businesses after their release from active duties. The 2 years after they return from service are the most difficult. The motion failed, 197-228. [HR 27, Vote 47, 3/2/05; Statements by Rep. Kildee, 109th Congressional Record, pg. H915, 3/2/05; Statement by Rep. Schakowsky, 109th Congressional Record, pg. H2074, 4/14/05]

Jindal Voted Against Debt Assistance for Returning Guard & Reservists. In 2005, Jindal voted against a motion to the 2005 bankruptcy reform bill to exempt members of the National Guard and Reserve from the means test in the bill if their debt was a result of active duty or was incurred within two years of returning home from their service. The overall bill imposed a new means test on Americans who filed for bankruptcy protection. Those with incomes above the median for their state, and who could pay at least $6,000 over five years, would have to develop a plan to repay creditors. Previously, debtors had the option of asking a bankruptcy judge to erase their debts in return for forfeiting some of their assets. Four out of 10 members of the Guard and Reserve forces lose income when they leave their civilian jobs for active duty. Many left for the war thinking they would be deployed for 6 months and have ended up staying for a year or even longer and may be shipped out again. Additionally, many Guard and Reservists are self-employed or run small businesses and face the daunting task of reestablishing their businesses after their release from active duties. The 2 years after they return from service are the most difficult. The motion to protect Guard and Reserve volunteers failed, 200-229. [S 256, Vote 107, 4/14/05; Los Angeles Times, 4/15/05; Statement by Rep. Schakowsky, 109th Congressional Record, pg. H2074, 4/14/05]

9 thoughts

  1. But he said that he always votes to support the troops, so it must be true! Right?

    Jindal is pathetic and it is a shame that we are even talking about a possibility of him winning it outright.

  2. It is apparent that Jindal would use our national soul as collateral for their endless wars and spend our birthright as free people to keep these wars going, but has the greatest scruples against such spending when it comes to caring for the 60,000 to 70,000 wounded American soldiers lucky enough to return from Iraq . This was not a single vote, but a pattern of voting that reflects his Bushbot mentality. Another such anomaly is his vitriolic campaign against gambling, but his minionic opposition to Louisiana’s collection of the tobacco settlement . Use them and lose them. Note that his votes were very instrumental in close talleys that defeated the legislations.

  3. Now that Bobby denies these recorded votes, he confirms that he is now an accomplished career politician. He has learned to lie. Can we now believe anything that he has to say?

  4. Now Louisiana has its second chance to decisively reject Bobby Jindal with his revealing record of sycophantic slavery to the Bush Administration’s heartless regime. Spend the nation into bankruptcy in the oil wars, but cringe at the spending to care for the wounded. If we had a ceremonial governor, Bobby would be perfect. He gets straight As for posturing and for lying with a straight face. In the school of career politicians he is now Professor Jindal, but he has little concern for the needs of the people he serves and he needs more seasoning before his is capable of such great endeavors.

  5. Can’t wait to see you bleeding heart liberals cry Saturday when Bobby wins in the primary. You dems can’t even come up with an oponent. What a joke

  6. Bobby Jindal refused to respond to a homeless veteran because he had no mailing address. All of the communication was through a library using internet e-mail. Jindal notified him via e-mail that he could not respond due to his lack of a mailing address.
    Let him argue his veteran support to anyone stupid enough to believe his lies. His voting record is enough to convince an idiot that he is enemy #1 of all veterans. What he did, was just plain MEAN.

  7. And the next time one of you right wing jerks calls someone a Bleeding Heart Liberal be sure you do it in a nice way. Jesus Christ was a Bleeding Heart Liberal.
    Check the book you pseudo-Christian clown.

  8. I have been checking your weblog for a while now, would seem like daily I discover one thing new Thanks
    I’m truly to be eventually posting on the internet soon after all these many years. There genuinely is no mystique (sp) about it, is there? I just dropped by your blog and had to write. I’m a recent school grad, journalism significant if you must know, and I absolutely enjoy photography. I’ve got my website up but it’s nothing to brag about nevertheless. None of my stuff’s been posted. Soon as I determine out how to do that, I’ll shell out the afternoon putting up my very best shots. anyways just believed I’d drop a line. I hope to return with much more substantial material, material you can really use.
    Although this topic can be extremely touchy for most people, my opinion is that there has to be a center or widespread ground that we all can uncover. I do appreciate that youve further related and intelligent commentary correct right here although. Thank you!
    effectively thoughtout and wonderful study so I figured I would leave you a comment. Really feel no cost to check out my website sometime and let me know what you think.
    I seen your site. Really cool. Will occur spine.
    Getting a new blogger, I would like to notify you that you have offered me a lot know-how about it. Many thanks for every thing.
    exceptional post! excellent assistance, will take on board!
    i critically necessary sales coaching to sharpen my expertise in promoting online goods.”`:
    Say thanks to you , I wish that the globe could be a much better place
    I’m really to be ultimately putting up on-line right after all these many years. There genuinely is no mystique (sp) about it, is there? I just dropped by your
    blog site and had to write. I’m a latest university grad, journalism main if you must know, and I definitely love images. I’ve got my site
    up but it’s absolutely nothing to brag about however. None of my stuff’s been posted. Soon as I determine out how to do that, I’ll shell out the afternoon submitting
    my greatest photographs. anyways just considered I’d drop a line. I hope to return with much more substantial stuff, stuff you can actually use.
    Although this topic can be amazingly sensitive for most individuals, my opinion is that there has to be a center or common ground that we all can discover. I do recognize that youve extra pertinent and intelligent commentary proper in this article though. Thank you!
    hey there, you have your entertaining web site! I have some kind of small one thing to say: did you know social bookmarking tools are nice for boost
    your google pagerank?. By the way, will be this microsoft website engine that u use? We believe its better then wordpress, it loads nicely atleast. Maintain up your very good operate!
    Hey there, I like all your content, hold them coming.
    Despite the fact that by now an abbreviation LOL is also at times abbreviated even more
    Excellent Searching Site Very good Job !
    Hey there may possibly I use some of the information the following in this submit if I present a link back to your site?
    This internet site is incredible. I’m going to place this in the bookmarks just before I misplace the url I don’t think I’ll ever locate my way back the following usually.
    This post has some really high-quality insights and interpretations in it. Your thesis is great, clear, and the argument is persuasive.
    many thanks for the information. I will definitly revisit this blog site yet again.
    I know this is truly boring and you are skipping to the subsequent comment, but I just needed to throw you a big with thanks – you cleared up some items for me!
    I just couldnt depart your site just before saying that I truly enjoyed the helpful data you present to your visitors… Will be back usually to check up on new stuff you submit!
    This is a great useful resource for everyone who weblogs!!
    Hey, have to have to admit excellent web site you have, i stumbled throughout it in Bing. Does you get significantly visitors?
    That is very intriguing. It offered me many concepts and I’ll be posting them on my net website soon. I’m bookmarking your blog site and I’ll be spine. Give thanks to you once more!
    If only I had a dime for every time I came here… Remarkable write-up!
    Your blog site is great! Usually when I go to weblogs, I just occur throughout shit, but this time I was really shocked when I got your website that contains brilliant info. Thanks mate and maintain this energy up.
    amazing n awesome n grabbing the blue 1 with bubble in it
    I adore your internet site. Extremely cool. Will occur back again.
    This is my very first time I have visited your internet site. I discovered a great deal of fascinating things in your blog. From the tons of feedback on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! hold up the good function.
    This is a good blog, Proceeding On.
    Wonderful being heading to your weblog web site however yet again, it has been months for me. Effectively this page that i’ve been waited for so prolonged. I will need this post to complete my assignment inside university, and it’s got very same subject with your web page. With thanks, amazing share.
    shares make use of a wonderful net site respectable Gives appreciate it for the efforts to support me news2all
    hello there,very good apple in your post,I adore thatelegantapple,I will need to locate one particular for me
    This articlewas a good read. I Learnt alot from it. Thank you for sharing.
    Lovely internet site, would genuinely like to see a little more written content although! Then yet again my puppet site hasn’t significantly both – Wonderful submit anyway, additional your XML feed! Cheers
    Thanks a ton for this, I am greatful for the info
    You wouldn’t believe it but I’ve wasted all day digging for some content articles about this. You’re a lifesaver, it was an outstanding study and has helped me out to no finish. Cheers
    Hello there there, great running a blog
    Hey, I searched for this blog site on Bing and just desired to say thanks for the outstanding study. I would have to consent with it, give thanks to you once more!
    Get it completed Your self is so a whole lot less complicated every time you can occur throughout exceptional reports equivalent to this
    Hey there, I searched for this blog on Bing and just desired to say thanks for the exceptional study. I would have to concur with it, give thanks to you once more!
    extraordinary site…I’ve in fact liked it!
    Howdy, your web site is on air in the radio! Great career mate. Your posts are genuinely wonderful and bookmarked
    Whats up webmaster I like your post
    Your website is so beneficial ¡­ maintain up the great function!!!!
    Fantastic blog site post.Truly seeking onward to examine far more.
    You write quite in depth,Pay tribute to you.Couldn’t be written any better. Reading this post reminds me of my previous space mate! He constantly held
    speaking about this. I will ahead this post to him. Fairly confident he will have a excellent study. With thanks for sharing!
    I am a frequent reader of your blog site posts. I appreciated the latest a single and other posts on your blog so much that I have subscribed to the blog’s RSS feed in Thunderbird. Even contemplating of stealing some suggestions and fit them to operate. Keep all the very good perform proceeding by putting up more educational posts. Say thanks to you. Time nicely spent on this
    Hey there, this is my very first comment on ur site. I’ve been looking through it for a even though in my RSS reader but haven’t commented just before. Anyways, with thanks for the post
    exciting blog. It would be wonderful if you can offer more particulars about it. With thanks you
    I want to say thanks to the blogger quite much not only for this submit but also for his all preceding initiatives. I identified thesimpleyoga.com to be greatly intriguing. I will be coming again to thesimpleyoga.com for far more info
    Superb as effectively as quite considerate put up! My spouse and i really enjoy the actual minute and hard work you set in each and every single 1 of your posts, along with ultimately made a decision to drop a new remark on one particular of them! I’ve shared your internet site with my other blogger pals, as effectively as subscribed so hopefully you do that same for me
    Exhibiting some recognize to this issue “new to this wordpress”. I defiantly acknowledge with in addition , it. If you definitely consider it than every thing can make alot of perception
    Sound very good. Its also my favourite matter.That’s wonderful andthanks for the fine sharring.
    World-wide-web style is an art, I adore it. When reading posts like these, it helps make me go again many a long time in the past and believe about when I started. It is incredible how a lot every thing has altered over the years. Wonderful post
    Developing a internet site has constantly been my hobby, specially with all the new fantastic platforms obtainable to us. I loved reading through your put up and will consider looking into new platforms.
    Quite useful post
    You wouldn’t think it but I’ve wasted all day time digging for some content about this. You¡¯re a lifesaver, it was an excellent examine and has served me out to no end. Cheers,
    The ample host’s opinion examination is exclusive, lets me have the new understanding to this matter
    That is very insightful. It gave me some tips and I’ll be inserting them on my website soon. I’m bookmarking your blog site and I’ll be back again. Thanks once more!
    I must say i savored lost and definately will miss it many thanks to your concepts , i’d adore to adhere to your weblog as usually as i can.possess a very good day time
    interesting weblog. It would be wonderful if you can offer much more particulars about it. With thanks
    Fantastic details! I’ve been wanting for some thing like this for a even though now. Many thanks!
    Please tell me it worked right? I dont wish to sumit it as soon as yet again if i do not have to! Both the weblog glitced out or i am an idiot, the 2nd choice doesnt surprise me lol. with thanks in your extremely great weblog
    Your weblog is so informative ¡­ keep up the great perform!!!!
    I have to state, you selected your words well. The concepts you authored on your encounters are well put. This is an unbelievable website!
    I genuinely appreciate the post.Genuinely looking forwards to study much more. Actually
    I would like to say “wow” what a inspiring submit. This is really excellent. Hold undertaking what you’re carrying out!!
    Sorry for the enormous review, but I’m truly loving the new Zune, and wish this, as well as the exceptional opinions some other men and women have created, will assist you choose if it’s the appropriate choice for you.
    Your website is so useful ¡­ preserve up the very good operate!!!!
    Excellent write-up, i expect can know significantly data About it.
    Hi there mate, thank you for posting its one particular of your far better undertakings. Its turning into significantly far more unusual to come across great writers these days.
    This is completely great. Thankyou for creating this offered
    EPIC website. I’m entirely looking forward to seeing a lot more posts!!!
    thanks to your concepts , i¡¯d adore to adhere to your weblog as generally as i can.possess a great day time
    Spectacular!!! Bookmarked this web page that has this tremendous solutions. Will come again to see if there are any updates. You, the creator, are a master. Thank you
    I have to condition, you chose your phrases effectively. The suggestions you wrote on your encounters are well positioned. This is an amazing website!
    Hey there, I searched for this blog site on Bing and just wanted to say with thanks for the exceptional read. I would have to concur with it, thank you once more!
    Hi there, fantastic blog! I’ve used this procedure a quantity of instances previously and i’ve had excellent final results. All dentists need to acquire observe of this. Quickly with a great end consequence, what more could you want? Thanks
    Great Blog site! Very informative, I appreciate all the info that you just shared with me really significantly and I also bookmarked this on delicous
    I genuinely like your put up. Always been really informational. I wish you’ll maintain up the good function and keep the regular. Very best of luck
    Thanks for this great submit. Have been bored in operate all working day right up until I stumbled across this put up, really obtained me thinking about some stuff
    one particular of the very best site so far will bookmark it for later reading through
    Howdy, your website is on air in the radio! Good job mate. Your posts are actually excellent and bookmarked. Regards

Leave a comment